COMMISSIONERS JOURNAL NO. 42 - DELAWARE COUNTY MINUTES FROM SPECIAL MEETING HELD SEPTEMBER 18, 2001

THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF DELAWARE COUNTY MET IN SPECIAL SESSION ON THIS DATE WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Present: James Ward, Deborah Martin, Donald Wuertz

It was moved by Mr. Wuertz, seconded by Mrs. Martin to approve the following resolution:

RESOLUTION NO. 01-1071

Whereas, on September 11, 2001, the United States of America was suddenly and brutally attacked by foreign terrorists in New York City, Washington, D. C. and Somerset County, PA;

Whereas, thousands of innocent Americans and rescue workers were killed and injured as a result of these cowardly, terrorist attacks;

Whereas, America has been blessed as a great nation with people from many nations and religions that are proud to be united as one nation, indivisible, under God:

Whereas, the spirit of the American people cannot be suppressed or divided by terrorist acts,

Whereas, in support of public pride and unity, the Delaware County Commissioners declare September 18, 2001, as Ohio County Government National Support Day;

Whereas, the Delaware County Commissioners are eternally grateful for the faithful efforts of rescue workers to save and protect fellow Americans;

Therefore be it resolved, that the Delaware County Commissioners condemn the invasion of these terrorists in the United States of America, and:

Be it further resolved, that the Delaware County Commissioners support and entrust President George W. Bush, the Members of Congress, the National Security Council, and the Armed Services to defend our liberties and protect the United States of America around the world against additional attacks, find the perpetrators, and bring them to justice, and;

Be it still further resolved, that the Delaware County Commissioners recommend that the citizens of Delaware County support relief efforts by giving blood at our local Red Cross or by making contributions to the Red Cross National Relief Fund at any Delaware County Bank

Vote on Motion

Mr. Ward Ave

Mrs. Martin Aye

Mr. Wuertz Ave

There being no further business the meeting adjourned.

Deborah B. Martin

James D. Ward

Donald E. Wuertz

Letha George, Clerk to the Commissioners